Scholarships 2015

Northern Fairfield Country 
Retired Teachers Association 

Mary Edgett was the oldest retired teacher in Connecticut until her death in 2010. She spent 48 years as a teacher, almost all in this local area. She taught at Hawleyville School in Newtown and at three Danbury Schools (Starrs Plain, Morris Street, and Broadview). She was known as a great teacher, touching thousands of lives, class by class, student by student. She retired in 1971.

  1. 1.NFCRTA honors Mary Frances Edgett by giving a $1500 scholarship in her name each year to a high school senior who plans to become a teacher.

  2. 2.The Memorial Scholarship honors NFCRTA members who passed away this year and the $1000 scholarship is awarded to a high school student who plans to become a teacher.


        Contributions to the scholarships can be sent to:

  1. NFCRTA Treasurer

  2. Libby Kasimer

  3. 88 Hillandale Road

  4. Danbury , CT 06811

  5. We ask for your continued support!

  6. Scholarship donations can be included with your luncheon and dues payment.

Northern Fairfield County Retired Teachers, an affiliate of the Association of Retired Teachers of Connecticut.

Jun 9, 2015

Northern Fairfield County Retired Teachers Association

Scholarships Application 2015

Open to students from Bethel High, Brookfield High, Danbury High, Henry Abbott Tech, New Fairfield High, Newtown High, Redding High and Ridgefield High.

Two scholarship awards were presented at the June 1 Spring Luncheon at Anthony's Lake Club:

$1500 Mary Frances Edgett Scholarship was awarded to Jessica Coughlin. Jessica will attend Quinnipiac University majoring in Secondary Education with the goal of becoming a mathematics teacher.

$1000 Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Brooke Hadgraft. Brooke will attend Manhattanville College with a major in Elementary Education.

Both girls are from Sandy Hook and are seniors at Newtown High School. Both credit their experiences at Sandy Hook Elementary School for nurturing their love of learning and teaching.NFCRTA members make these awards possible with their generous donations.